A song I can dance to

Is it dancing if, on slapping play, my finger snaps back in time to the level up effect? Is it dancing if the movements start somewhere above my ankles but below my knees? Is it dancing if the motion seems nearer to collapse? Is it dancing if the movements get no further from my stereo than two foot back and two foot sideways, if the time spent nodding outdoes the time spent flowing?

Is it dancing if I spend longer trying to mimic electronic stutters, jamming myself on loop and hoping I can sustain it long enough for the electronic tick tock to replace stilted digital vocals? Is it dancing if my breaths seem to soften so much they barely register? Is it dancing if I stop moving? Is it dancing when the drumsticks tumble from the sky and explode on contact? Is it dancing the explosions splay outwards, razing the ground and scorching the earth, leaving only hollow blackened space where life once teemed?

Is it dancing if robots do it better? Is it dancing if I have to ask? Is it dancing if I’ve never actually danced to it, ever, or ever heard it but through tinny stereos? Is it dancing if I don’t think any of that matters, if my favourite moments in motion never amount to much more than a slight sway while my eyelids – closed – seem to bubble and blister with shapes and colours and the blazing corona of a sun is the only space my retina can take comfort? If it dancing if it isn’t dancing?

Is it dancing when you get bored of the loop? Is it dancing if disaffection is the only response? Is it dancing if there isn’t enough passion in the source to raise a beard of sweat? Is it dancing if the French do it? Is it dancing if the French don’t do it? Is it dancing in LA? Is it? Is it dancing in La? Is it dancing when I defeat the boss? Is it dancing when the lava returns?

Yes; it is dancing.

One thought on “A song I can dance to

Leave a Reply

