Stickiness

I’ve got a new job. More about that later in the week, but for that reason alongside a couple of others I’m slowing down the pace of projects known and unknown.

The recent comics blogs (now redacted), the unzine, a few microfiction projects: all on hold or dormant. The Audioboo-related project won’t see light of day until August now, and it’s likely to be a much more background affair, a compliment to threesixfivestart and The Polaroid Press rather than something totally new. WAW+P continues, although that’s going to transform a little too, and I’m also going to be working with Emma Vieceli and the rest of the team to produce the Comic Village at London’s MCM Expo.

I’ve also been closing tabs. Chrissy Williams had a chapbook – The Jam Trap – published the other week over at Silkworms Ink and, much to my annoyance, I hadn’t read it last time I saw her. I have now, chuckling away in the living room while The Girl dozes next door.

It’s a lovely collection – short, sweet and funny – and I’m going to reblog one poem here – Digital Ghost Towns – because I like the images so much. I can’t stress enough how good Chrissy is live. She’s become one of the most charming performers I’ve seen, and I always feel nudged to do something live after I’ve watched her.

I forwarded you the thing about the British Library’s web archiving project and you said it looked very interesting and I suddenly remembered that time I was trying to google some old poetry sites and kept seeing things like No Updates Since 1997 and how depressing it was and how somehow it was even more depressing seeing these digital ghost towns than it was for a physical magazine to simply stop making any new issues and then how the more I looked the more I realised the internet is full of dead ends and holes and the bits of it that actually work are just bright lights shining in a desert, not like Vegas because Vegas is offputting to lots of people so it’s a bad analogy but I just mean that when the lights are working they’re wonderful and anything abandoned especially something creative makes me sad but it’s part of the process I suppose and we just have to try and avoid these holes and my god how many blogs will there even be online in 50 years’ time and have we got another 2000 years of blogging coming up and shouldn’t we be setting up grander projects that will last brightly forever without getting lost on the internet and just what are we playing at anyway? “Shall we put the kettle on?” I say.

Sarah Jaffe‘s also been busy, and her latest column for Global Comment is one close to my heart. She meanders through London looking for some kind of Bowie-ghost, and it conjures up a little of my New York wanderings last year as I groggily tried to hunt down something like inspiration.

And standing in the liquor store line with my mother back in the States, buying wine that we would drink later and cry over, it came on again, “China Girl,” and by now the only thing those piano plonks reminded me of is the fact that they kept appearing to remind me of things. Suddenly I didn’t want to tell that story anymore.

That’s a wrap. Keep an eye on the WAW+P blog for an update soon.

Leave a Reply

