Two Posters

I’ve always liked consistency in packaging. Whether it be in brand and product or album and singles, I enjoy threads and themes that extend beyond shared logos. Which is why it irks me when products don’t match up.

These two run side by side at Old Street.

I understand that the wings responsible for commissioning the ads at Barclays are probably independent. I understand the target groups for each have been focus tested to within an inch of their lives. I understand these products are different.

But why buy adjacent slots? The clash of vision is such that it’s nothing but off-putting. Symbolically it suggests that the different arms of the bank don’t know what the other is up to. It stresses a lack of communication, a lack of transparency, a lack of joined-up planning.

I wouldn’t want funding, corporate or domestic, from someone I thought that of. Would you?

Leave a Reply

