Week 38

My Grandad died last week. William Dibben, Keith to his friends, played a big part in bringing my sister and I up. Twice-a-week most weeks he made sure we got home safe and sound, cooked us dinner, and did whatever he could to help us with homework.

He introduced me to Star Trek and The Animals of Farthing Wood. He sat with me when I came home and saw the second tower fall. He broke his collarbone in the search for instamatic camera shots when I told him about The Polaroid Press. He cared deeply for his children and their children, and I’ll miss him.

Grandad was a man familiar with blurring the boundary between work-life and social-life, and he seemed to get the best of both worlds. I’ve learned a lot from that. Personal projects will be stepping down a gear for a few weeks as I visit family, but work continues.

GDS

Big week building up to Sprint 13, which took place this morning. I played a small part in the thing, but it ran like very impressive clockwork – lessons for most conference organisers to be taken from that team. In the meantime I’ve been plugging away at the alpha of the Digital by Default standard and helping various folks plan work for the next few weeks.

SMEE

Joined Anne at Alexandra Palace to film the SMEE members at the London Model Engineering Exhibition. I can’t believe it’s been a whole year since our first meeting with them. They’re a lovely bunch, and keep putting up with us shoving increasingly complex kit in their faces while they work and chat (they were very excited about the high-precision machining of Anne’s new glide-rail).

Sandsmark

‘Sandsmark’ is the code-name for a new project that I started this week. It’s something to do with sound and talks, but it hasn’t got a definite shape yet. It might take a very long time to come to fruition. I talked to Matt Giraudeau and Laurie Penny about different aspects of it. Both were super-generous with their time, and lovely company – many thanks.