Not mending

I remembered something Russell wrote a while back about the pleasure of watching edits happen in Google Drive. I remembered it while experiencing the soul-sucking horror of seeing the opposite happen; all the tiny Bagpuss mice tramping their dirty feet all over the clock as it fell apart underneath them.

Collaboration is really, really hard.

There’s a staggering amount of trust involved in giving over full editing access to other humans. You have to have confidence in abilities – they’ll probably have earned that – or it all just breaks down.

I’ve been doing some work for Poetica recently, and I’ve started taking commentary on text for granted. Suggestions and annotations rather than rewrites. I misunderstand the ‘Github for writing’ thing sometimes; it’s not necessarily the diffs or the openness that’s important, but the ability to review what people want to do to words.