A song that makes me happy

Mid afternoon. San Francisco. Bombing along a startlingly empty California One. Window down, stereo up.

I’ve swapped Alex’s playlist of delightful twee pop for my own; a playlist designed for Friday afternoon drivetime. This song comes on and the three of us – Frances is in the back – all sort of go ‘Wooooah, I haven’t heard this in aaaaages’. Brilliant.

(Note: THIS IS WHAT ALL MUSIC PLAYED IN CARS SHOULD MAKE YOU DO)

‘Steal My Sunshine’ just cheers me up. Makes me think of being being in a teen movie – specifically the kind of early 90s teen movie I didn’t watch until I was in my early twenties. It’s a flash of joyous pop that no-one really knows the verses of, just the chorus and the clips from .

I can’t really type while listening to it either, so it’s taken three plays to get these paragraphs down. Here’s a photo. And here’s a big thank you to Frances and Alex, who are lovely friends living most of a world away.

the view out the window along California One