A song that I used to love but now hate

Within about three months of release “Hoppípolla” became a byword for lazy emotional manipulation. I avoid it like the plague, and will contentedly skip or mute any ad, trail or scene featuring it.

Which means this is the first time I’ve listened to it in a long damn time. Once I’ve powered through the opening bars it doesn’t make me bristle half way as much as it used to. In fact, I remember hearing the first time and getting a pretty honest emotional surge, especially by the two minute twenty mark when the whole thing starts crashing together.

It’s things like this that set me up for all the soundtracks I’ve started falling for. Russell linked to “From The Sea To The Land Beyond” the other day which moved me to tears the first time I saw it.

It’s a really carefully constructed film, to the extent that I’ve stopped listening to it without the visuals. Beautiful with it.

Much less careful is The Miner’s Hymns, but the individual sequences are fabulous (I wish it flowed together better). I was able to see it performed live a couple of months ago with Newton and Rex, and found myself crying as “The Cause of Labour is The Hope of The World” thundered away.

Gorgeous stuff.

And obviously working in the opera house played a part in warming me up for this kind of thing, but tracks like “Hoppípolla” did their fair bit too. Saccharine piece of fluff, but pretty I suppose.