A month of new things

12445870_565483543616091_1473153406_n

That’s the new setup. Freelancing’s treating me well so far – two clients, and a bunch of interesting things going on that made the transition out of GDS last month really easy.

The only setback was damaging my mac last week (coffee spill, like an idiot). GDS got me into good habits though, so no work was lost – just a few hours of configuring a new (and pricey) machine. C’est la vie!

AHO

My first big project is two weeks of teaching at AHO in April. Planning for that is going really well: I’ve got a solid brief for the students and it’s making me draw out very explicit lessons about product communications from my time at GDS (and Last.fm actually) that have started coming in use elsewhere too.

I’ve also got a couple of talks lined up out there for organisations sponsoring the trip. Again, that’s been a really nice prompt for thinking about the last few years and pinning particular stories and approaches down.

IF

Started some work for IF too, helping them pin down how they talk about their work. It’s been extremely interesting to hear about the world adjacent to – and sometimes of – the civic tech/tech policy/worthy projects world GDS inhabits…

GDC

…which was something I didn’t think about at all during GDC.*

Hanging out with the One Life Left team was reminder of how much work goes into getting that show out. During GDC they recorded a show every day (one hour of prep, one and a half hours of recording, two hours of editing) and ran two epic Marioke parties. If I join them next year though I am absolutely tacking a holiday to the end of it – the event was brilliant and exhausting.

25867023342_e3514d362e_k

It’s also nice to be with my partner while she’s in a professional headspace, a reminder that she’s an excellent producer and showrunner.

Other stuff

I dropped into Labour Digital a couple of times, finished up my first hobby project, and continued my run of excellent coffees. I also said goodbye to GDS – I miss the team’s slackbot already – and to Phonogram.

25357407444_04d7fc6626_k

* Except to the extent that the wealth gap is so screamingly visible there. Projects like Code For America feel like extremely natural responses to that context. I am stunned it isn’t larger… until I remember than the city’s actually relatively small.