Clever people, stacked

I spent a bit of the day watching parliament.tv for the oral evidence on the Digital Economy Bill. Exciting, right?

These things are (can be?) interesting. A completely alien format to most people, these committees are how law gets unpacked in the UK. And mostly they look like this…

screen-shot-2016-10-11-at-14-44-10

…a bit like a court case.

I was mostly tuning in to watch Sarah from IF, but I dipped in and out of a few sessions, including one featuring Jeni Tennison from the ODI and my old boss Mike Bracken.

All of them made me feel differently stupid. There’s a lucidity to a clarity to their arguments that makes me think ‘Oh, man, that’s obvious. Why didn’t I see that?’

I forget, when I watch, that the things they tell the MPs on the panel are the results of chats and work and arguments and a bunch of reading. That there’s rigour in this stuff. That each of them are the eloquent endpoints of a stack of reckons.

(Then, after Sarah’s session, a little snippet of audio picked up by the mic…)